Applied research

« From quill to image »
Supported by the Centre National de la Danse

Intention

Parting from a desire to pass on « la belle danse » to a new generation of professional dancers, this project intergrates as well the aim to pursue the research of the choreographic corpus of the 17th and 18th century. Following up Francine Lancelot’s work, the applied research and the analysis will be undertaken by approaching it in the chronological order of its appearance.

The content

During the workshop we will deciphe the choreographic scores, memorise them and look for an interpretation that is the most true possible to the notation. We will offer an arm ornamentation and will then film. The recording is necessary to analyze the worked collection.
Following the principle of chronological order, we start by the 15 dances from Raoul Auger Feuillet’s first collection from 1700. This year we will approach the collection of Pécour 1700.

Who this is directed to

  • To professional baroque dancers – freelance or part of a company in France or abroad
  • To researchers in the field of dance (spectators)

Partners

  • The CND
  • The association for a Research Centre on the Performing Arts of the 17th and 18th century
  • The musician François Lazarevitch, director of the ensemble Les Musiciens de Saint-Julien

Place

Centre National de la Danse, 1 rue Victor Hugo à Pantin, Métro Hoche

Workshops with the shared resposibility of Irène Ginger and Marie-Geneviève Massé

Participation including the entry fee for the L’Éventail association:
18€ for the first session, 5€/day for the following sessions
Download the membership form (in French)

Calendar season 2012‐2013

Saturday 27 October 9h30 – 17h30
Saturday 24 November 9h30 – 17h30
Friday 11 January 13h30 – 20h30 and Saturday 12 January 9h30 – 17h30
Friday 8 Ferbruary 13h30 – 20h30 and Saturday 9 February 9h30 – 17h30
Friday 15 March 17h30 – 20h30 and Saturday 16 March 9h30 – 17h30
Friday 5 April 13h30 – 20h30 and Saturday 6 April 9h30 – 17h30
Friday 3 May 13h30 – 20h30 and Saturday 4 May 9h30 – 17h30
Thursday 20, Friday 21 juin 13h30 – 20h30 and Saturday 22 June 9h30 – 17h30

Contact

Compagnie de Danse l’Éventail
32 rue Gambetta
F-72 300 Sablé sur Sarthe
+33 2 43 95 26 14 / +33 9 75 50 39 80
Email